What to think of when buying a new computer

When you go out to buy a new computer, you have to ask yourself a few questions; What brand? What OS? How much RAM? Laptop or Desktop? Size? Touch-screen? Webcam quality? That’s why I wrote an article on how to buy a new computer. (That’s this, by the way) Let’s get started!

 

 

What Brand?

There are quite a few computer companies out there. Toshiba, Dell, Acer and HP, to name a few. To me, brand really matters on they’re customer support. Beyond that, there is not much else to me. It’s all personal opinion. If you like Dell, get a Dell. If you like Acer, get an HP. Winking smile

What OS?

Ah, the big question. You want the best OS for your needs. You have quite a few choices, but only 2 are found in stores:

Bold ones are available in stores.

  • Windows
  • Linux
  • UNIX
  • Solaris
  • Macintosh

This all depends on your needs. If you need speed, Linux is best. If you need style, Mac is best. If you want Linux, but can’t find a Linux computer, get Windows. It all depends. I won’t go in to the which is better thing, because that would be a article of it’s own. Smile

How much RAM?

RAM plays a big factor in your computer’s performance. Here at GB7, our Acer laptops have 2 GB of RAM. That’s all we need here. I can help you out on this with a little table…

If you do 3D or multimedia a lot 3 – 4 GB
Photos or Images 2 GB
Just text 1 GB

If you want 64-bits, though, you would need to get at least 2 GB with Windows. RAM plays a big factor if you plan to upgrade later on.

Laptop or Desktop?

This is a pretty important question. I, personally, like laptops better than desktops. Because I need high-speed Internet, something I don’t have at home, so I use a hotspot for my Internet. I do get annoyed with having to pack and unpack my laptop every day. I would recommend laptops if you don’t have Internet or like to have your computer everywhere you go, and I would recommend desktops if you don’t like to lug around a laptop, you don’t go places often and/or have Internet at home. Smile

Size?

If you are getting a desktop, you can skip this section!

The size of your laptop is pretty important. You want one small enough to fit in your bag, but not be too small for power. My computer just barely fits in my bag, but is still small and kind of weak on the outside. Browse around a while.

Touch-screen and webcam quality?

Different people have different needs when it comes to these two things. For example, someone who does a lot of Paint drawing would want they’re computer a touch-screen. One thing to keep in mind here is that Windows isn’t quite there yet with tablets. Windows 8 is tablet-oriented, but you won’t see that hitting the shelves for a few more months. As for webcam quality, if you just like looking at yourself, a low-quality webcam would be nice. Same for doing stuff like Skype or Google+ hangouts. Now, if you are doing HD stuff like a movie from your webcam, you should try getting a better one.

Well, that’s all I have for today. I hope to see you guys at the next SocialBreak! Smile Thanks!

-Ben

Comment

